ANOTHER GREAT LIVE GIG REVIEW – MANCHESTER, GORILLA

louder-than-war-gorilla-review

Louder Than War have given former Mansun frontman, Paul Draper, another great review for his Manchester, Gorilla gig, saying he

has one of the greatest voices of his generation. And the next.

Comparing the live gig with the recorded version of his debut solo album Spooky Action, the review continues

‘  If anything, ‘Feeling My Heart Run Slow’, ‘Things People Want’, ‘Friends Make The Worst Enemies’ and new single ‘Grey House’ are raised to a new level. Parallels are easily drawn between the songs on ‘Attack of the Grey Lantern’ and ‘Spooky Action’. On record they are synth lead, with a pop edge. Live, they are a new beast, Ben Sink’s guitar lines and Paul on rhythm adds meat to the bones but Catherine’s keys are vital to holding the songs together.

All the more impressive is Jon Barnett’s drumming on Feeling My Heart Run Slow, the broken up beats and constant changes in rhythm that are so essential in the original version are replicated and accentuated with a flourish that only great drummers can achieve.

The album is so strong that the anticipation for Mansun tracks is lower than you’d expect which means when the main set is closed by their biggest single, ‘I Can Only Disappoint You’ it is met with almost surprise, but no little joy, people all around singing themselves hoarse.

Perhaps the most famous Mansun track, ‘Wide Open Space’ brings the house down.’

Tickets are now on sale for a further fourteen gigs across the UK and Ireland  in February and March 2018.  Dates and venues are as follows:

Monday 19th February:  BRIGHTON, The Haunt

Tuesday 20th February:  PORTSMOUTH, Wedgewood Rooms

Wednesday 21st February:  BRISTOL, Bierkeller

Friday 23rd February:  DUBLIN, The Workman’s Club

Saturday 24th February:  BELFAST, Limelight 2

Monday 26th February:   EDINBURGH, The Caves

Tuesday 27th February:  GLASGOW, The Art School

Thursday 1st March:  MANCHESTER,  O2  Ritz

Friday 2nd March:  SHEFFIELD, The Leadmill

Saturday 3rd March: NEWCASTLE, The Riverside

Monday 5th March:  NOTTINGHAM, Rescue Rooms

Tuesday 6th March:  NORWICH, The Waterfront

Wednesday 7th March: OXFORD,  O2 Academy 2

Thursday 8th March:  LONDON, Electric Ballroom

Book early to avoid disappointment, links to ticket booking agencies can be found HERE .

You can read the full Louder Than War review HERE .

 

louder-than-war-gorilla-review